BBW of the week: Isabel Sanford

One BBW that I absolutely adore is Isabel Sanford. I never used to watch The Jeffersons, but I discovered that series when it came out on DVD a few years ago, and just fell in love with that series. I don’t care for George Jefferson and his reversed racism, but the other characters make up for him, in particular the character of Louise or Weezy, played by Isabel Sanford.

She’s simply wonderful. She’s smart and no-nonsense, and she’s just beautiful. I love how she’s self-confident and sassy in her own way. In real life, she was an anonymous philathropist until the end of her life, giving to charity not for the recognition but because she had a heart of gold. Incidentally, as pointed out before, she was 20 years older than Sherman Hemsley, who played George…

Here’s an episode that I watched recently, called Louise’s Daughter (it’s broken down in 3 parts; start with the top file). Toward the end of the episode, the young lady says that Louise is beautiful, and I couldn’t agree more.

1 Comment

  1. Twistie said,

    January 13, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Isobel Sanford was a beautiful woman inside and out. Every word I heard from her in public was both gracious and dignified. I think she’s an amazing role model for us all.


Leave a Reply

