Big girl, you are beautiful

Others in the fatosphere have discussed the merits (and shortcomings) of Mika’s song Big girl you are beautiful, but this is not why I’m writing this entry.

I like that song a lot and I think it’s more positive than anything else, especially considering how popular Mika is. And even then, I’m surprised that the song made it as a single — not because it doesn’t deserve a video or to be made a single, but simply because normally a song like this one would end up being totally ignored by the decision makers who are involved in the singles selection process.

Anyway, all this to say that it was a pleasant surprise last fall when I entered the Aldo shoe store on trendy Mont-Royal street just as the song played (it happened that they were playing the whole album — still, they didn’t skip the song) and that it is so now when mainstream pop music radio stations are playing it.

Here’s the song’s video, while we’re at it (sure, the ladies’ size doesn’t run the gamut as much as they could, but it’s already more than baby steps. Especially coming from a young, talented — and quite popular — artist like Mika).

9 Comments

  1. jamboree said,

    June 11, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I quite like it, but still — women being objectified in the music industry. No change there, then….

  2. nuckingfutz said,

    June 11, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    You know what I really liked about it? Not just the song, but the fact that what he’s saying is true – for him. He wasn’t just putting up a front, he really believes what he says in that song (I read an interview with him a few months back where he says that his female family members inspired him to write that song, because they’re all “big girls” and he sees them as beautiful.) The song is great, but knowing that he actually BELIEVES what he’s singing? That just makes me smile, and how can I NOT like a song that makes me smile? 🙂

  3. theladyshakes said,

    June 11, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I have issues with the song. When I first heard it, I was kinda weirded out by it. I was surprised that he was just so forefront about it. Plus, the “diet coke and a pizza please” just struck me as very stereotypical.

    Also, have you ever heard Queen’s “Fat Bottomed-Girls”? I feel like Mika is just a reincarnation of Queen already, and to have another song about a luxuriously large lady really contributes to that argument.

    Finally, isn’t the lead sing of Mika gay? Not like that really matters, Gay men can think big girls are beautiful, I just feel like the type of audience Mika has would already believe that big girls are beautiful anyways.

  4. June 11, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    […] 11, 2008 Ladyjaye75 posted this video on her blog, Dancing With My Mirror. Living in a culture that believes skinny = beauty, and women who are bigger than a size twelve […]

  5. anniemcphee said,

    June 12, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Well he’s no Freddy Mercury, that’s for sure. And that isn’t up to par with Queen music.

    Though I really don’t know what’s wrong with FatBottomed Girls – I love it.

  6. lambrite said,

    June 12, 2008 at 1:03 am

    I’ve gotta agree with theladyshakes… Just drop back to 1978 and pick up Queen’s Fat-Bottomed Girls, which, being somewhat of a musical hippie, I like far more than Mika. Queen was at the front of my mind, from the chorus on.

  7. Audrey said,

    June 12, 2008 at 3:13 am

    love it. i hadent heard it until just now, but i really like it because its something you wouldnt normally hear from hollywood. very impressive.

    i do however agree with ladyshakes. whats the deal about diet coke and the pizza? your gonna have to explain that one to me…

  8. Lottie said,

    June 12, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Let me try this without the links and see if it will post.

    I have issues with the song. When I first heard it, I was kinda weirded out by it. I was surprised that he was just so forefront about it. Plus, the “diet coke and a pizza please” just struck me as very stereotypical.

    I’ll come back to this in a minute.

    Also, have you ever heard Queen’s “Fat Bottomed-Girls”? I feel like Mika is just a reincarnation of Queen already, and to have another song about a luxuriously large lady really contributes to that argument.

    Minor nitpick: Mika is an individual singer-songwriter; Queen is an entire band. I think you meant to compare him to to Freddie Mercury.

    More to the point, all musicians are inspired and influenced by other musicians. I think it’s petty to criticize that.

    Finally, isn’t the lead sing of Mika gay? Not like that really matters, Gay men can think big girls are beautiful, I just feel like the type of audience Mika has would already believe that big girls are beautiful anyways.

    You began your comment by criticizing something that you perceived as “stereotypical”. You then ended your comment by stereotyping an entire listening and viewing audience. Gotta love the irony, though.

    And by the way, gay men can think skinny girls are pretty too – their tastes vary the same as straight men. Or straight women. Or lesbians. Or asexual men and women. And so on… The point is, sexuality doesn’t affect eyesight and acknowledgment of beauty should not be mistaken for sexual attraction.

    But I agree with you on one point: sexual orientation is completely irrelevant to this topic. I just can’t figure out why you felt the need to mention it.

  9. Lottie said,

    June 12, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    One last thing and then I’ll shut up. At least for a minute or two. 😛

    Regarding the diet coke and pizza reference, I honestly don’t see what’s not to “get”.

    One of the more common ways people mock big women is to laugh at them for having diet drinks while pigging out on high fat foods (whether or not they actually do this). The idea behind that line in the song may have been to turn it around on people who do that; sort of making fun of the stereotype itself.

    Another perspective might be that he’s saying to people who use the “diet coke and pizza” dig, “And? What’s it to ya’? That’s preferable to skinny pretentious women any day” (that’s not to say that all skinny people are pretentious).

    There are a lot of different ways to look at it. But there’s a certain level of irony to the whole thing. Some people don’t “get” irony.

    Thanks for letting me have my say. I’ll go now. 😉


Leave a Reply

