Kotaku: Expert says that children shouldn’t use Wii Fit

*Sanity warning* If you click on either Kotaku link, read the comments at your own risk. Thanks to Godless Heathen for the heads up, I really didn’t have time to check the comments section.

There was this little girl (of average built for her age) who was crushed when Wii Fit inaccurately indicated that she was fat. Well, Tam Fry of the National Obesity Forum says that children should stay away from Wii Fit and its BMI indicator.

Well, how about this: how about using Wii Fit as a game to increase your balance instead of focusing on your BMI and weight? How about getting your kid a home version of Dance Dance Revolution instead? Or simply to let the kid play regular videogames and alternate between that and playing outdoors, like we did as children?

(here comes the “I’m an old fart part”) When I was 12, I loved playing videogames with my best friend. He had a NES, I had an Atari, and we spent so many hours trying to finish Donkey Kong to the Atari (impossible — the score rolls over) or trying to figure out the secrets in the original Zelda game (quite a challenge in those pre-Internet days). But we also rode bikes, played street hockey, climbed around, explored my landlord’s storage barn, invented our share of GI Joe and Transformer adventures…

Anyway, I read about this over at the Digital Press forums (it’s a community dedicated to videogames old and new). I’ve been tempted to answer back about comments on BMI and fatness and all, but to hell… One’s gotta pick battles, and I got a feeling that a bunch of twentysomething males might not be so open to the idea of HAES. Not even among geeks.

3 Comments

  1. AnnieMcPhee said,

    May 16, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    The comments on that article are horrifying. I use that word too much, but it’s true.

    Also, my brother and I were total Atari addicts. We could play Asteroids up until it hit the most difficult level (it just didn’t get any harder after that) and keep going for hours until we got tired of it. My favorite was Super Breakout.

  2. Godless Heathen said,

    May 17, 2008 at 4:08 am

    You should put some sort of “sanity watchers” warning up for the comments. The community at Kotaku can charitably be described as lively, and uncharitably described as a bunch of hooting dickholes. (To steal from Zero Punctuation.) However, it’s nice to see Kotaku pick up this article and put it up, I’d been skeptical about Wii Fit for quite a while, mostly because the plastic doodad doesn’t look like it would hold up to my weight.

  3. Godless Heathen said,

    May 17, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Argh, run on sentences much? Sorry.


Leave a Reply

